BSL 4: Ravana Sena wins another and enters Masters group, Rising Phoenix & Sphinx Samaraveeras register their 1st victory

Ravana Sena recorded their 2nd consecutive victory against Villianous Vampires and entered the Masters group while 2nd defeat for VV's meant they will have to fight it out in the 'do or die' group. On a day when Rain was playing hide and seek ,a full 20 over match looked very much doubtful. But  fortunately the rains were not so heavy and the entire match was played without any stoppage although there was light drizzle throughout.

Electing to field first after winning the toss Nishant AJ led side struck right on the first ball of the match with a run out where in Praveen Subramaniam was dismissed after some confusion with his opening partner Praney Thapa. After this VV batsmen never looked in control and struggled for runs and in the process also lost wickets quickly, thanks to some good bowling from the new ball bowlers of Ravana's. By the time the team score was 10 VV's had lost 3 of their top order batsmen. VV kept on losing wickets at regular intervals, it was a 39 run partnership between Saqib and Purnendu which actually helped them set a challenging target of 96 runs for their opponents to chase. Saqib scored 21 of 23 balls while Purnendu scored 27 of 24 balls. Purnendu's innings included 2 boundaries and a six. For Ravana's Nishant Tomar, T Velu and Prashant picked up 2 wickets each while Amit too supported by picking up a wicket. Kadir and Sadiq too bowled brilliantly but were wicket-less.

The chase of Ravana's started at a slow rate and also lost both their openers when the team score was 12 runs. It was Amit and Kadir who gave boost to Ravana's innings when they were pretty slow in the middle overs during their chase. Amit hit 2 huge sixes and scored 13 of 7 balls while Kadir hit 1 six and 1 four in his innings of 29 runs from 26 balls and also remained unbeaten till the end to guide his team to victory. Johnson Joseph too played a handy knock along with Kadir after Amit was dismissed, Johnson scored 18 runs of 13 balls, his innings included 3 boundaries. For VV's Praney Thapa and Purnendu wicket 2 wickets each while Praveen, Gopi and Uday picked up a wicket each.

Kadir Velu was awarded man of the match for his brilliant and responsible batting and also for some tight bowling.

Rising Phoenix win their first encounter

In the first match of the day Raghu led Rising Phoenix beat Assault Ayyannars by 3 wickets in yet another low scoring game at Gopalan sports academy. Rising Phoenix won the toss decided to bowl first. The decision seemed perfect as Ayyannars batsmen other than Saleem struggled against the Phoenix bowlers especially against Sumeet Bagewadi who picked 5 wickets in the match. Saleem showed his class with some great strokes as he scored 34 runs of 38 balls before being run out. His innings included 3 boundaries. The only other batsman from Ayyannars besides Saleem to score a double figure was Kishore DK who managed 10 runs of 7 balls. For Phoenix Sumeet Bagewadi was the most impressive bowler as he finished with figures of 5-17 in his 4 overs, Ganesh DR picked 2 wickets while Ravi Kiran and Kranthi picked a wicket each.

Phoenix did not have a great start to their innings as Sumeet B who starred with the ball was run out in the very first ball of their innings. But Akash Shenvi and Ravi Kiran stitched together a partnership of 30 runs for the second wicket before Akash was dismissed by Saleem. Then there were couple more quick wickets which gave Ayyannars a small hope of a comeback but Ganesh DR gave good support to Ravi Kiran for the 6th wicket as yet another 30 runs partnership of  Phoenix innings was made. By the time Ganesh was dismissed Phoenix just needed 20 runs of 42 balls with 4 wickets in hand. Ganesh scored 14 runs before being dismissed, his innings included 2 fours. After Ganesh was dismissed Ravi Kiran took all responsibility and guided Phoenix to their first victory of BSL 4. Ravi Kiran remained unbeaten on 46 of 45 balls, 4 runs short of tournament's 2nd fifty. His innings included 4 boundaries. For Ayyannars Saleem and Bharath Reddy picked up 2 wickets each while Karthik Y picked one wicket.

Ravi Kiran was awarded man of the match for his superb innings of 46 runs and a tight spell of bowling in which he picked a wicket too.

Sphinx Samaraveeras win a low scoring thriller

Put into bat first Samaraveeras started off on a good note as both their openers Dilip Kumar and Jayaendra Bharath looked in good touch. They put up a partnership of 26 runs for the first wicket before Jayendra Bharath was dismissed after making 19 runs of 19 balls, his innings included a four and a six. Dilip too was dismissed later after making 13 runs of 21 balls. Everything looked smooth for Samaraveeras till the end of 13th over when their team score was 3 for 67. The 14th over bowled by Santosh Charan brought back Griffin Warriors back into the game as he picked 3 wickets in 4 balls. Later Subashish B and Karthik Jr who came in after 6th wicket played a handy innings. Subashish scored 12 of 20 balls while Karthik scored 12 of 10 balls and helped Samaraveeras to set a target of 93 runs. For Griffin, Siddhu Rupesh and Santosh Charan were the best bowlers on display as both finished with figures of 4 for 11 and 3 for 12 respectively, while Dhayalan picked up a wicket.

The chase of Griffin started well as the openers Nav Krishna and Viney Kumar managed to put up a 28 run partnership for the first wicket before Viney was dismissed by Dilip courtesy the 'Catch of the tournament' by Subashish Baruah. It was undoubtedly the best catch of the tournament so far. Suraj Hegde who came in next disappeared quickly. Soon Nav Krishna too was dismissed for 16 runs of 30 balls. Thereafter it was wickets falling at regular intervals due to some great bowling by Samaraveeras bowlers especially Nikhil Sandeep who picked up 4 wickets by giving away 21 runs. No batsmen from Griffin could offer any resistance and eventually were bowled out for 82 runs. Besides Nikhil, Ankit Goyal picked 2 wickets while Dilip and Lakshmi picked up a wicket each.

Nikhil Sandeep was awarded Man of the match for his brilliant spin bowling.


Popular posts from this blog

Next Gen of Karnataka Cricket !!!

Top 10 sportspersons from Karnataka

BSL 4: Rishabh Krishna shines as Thundering typhons beat Drakon force