Karnataka enter quarters of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017

Karnataka continued their good run at Vijay Hazare Trophy 2017 by beating Hyderabad in an intense low scoring thriller. With this win they also ensured a place in quarter finals for themselves in a tournament which is considered to  one of the biggest limited overs tournament in Indian Domestic cricket.

 Vinay Kumar's was the Hero for Karnataka as he managed to play an unbeaten knock under pressure to secure a thrilling one-run win over Hyderabad.
Highly experienced Vinay Kumar used all his experience and remained unbeaten on 35 to take Karnataka to victory after they were facing defeat at 81 for nine while chasing a low score of 109 runs at the Eden Gardens.
It was a dismal performance from the Karnataka batting unit as their batsmen showed lack of patience and got out playing unnecessary rash shots
Vinay Kumar, who came to bat at number nine was playing his first match of the tourney after recovering from an injury but he managed to play a patient 56-ball knock to take Karnataka to last eight round with five wins from as many matches.
Karnataka were 28 runs short of the target when Vinay Kumar was joined by Prasidh Krishna.
Earlier, off-spinner K Gowtham was at his best as he grabbed a career-best 5 for 28 to bundle out Hyderabad for 108 in 44 overs.
In reply, Karnataka were nine for two by the fifth over with Chama Milind striking in his first over with the left-arm seamer claiming two wickets in two balls castling Gowtham (16) and Manish Pandey (0) to reduce them to 39 for four.
When the need of the hour was to stay at the crease, Karnataka batsmen were in a hurry to score runs as Siraj also took wickets in successive deliveries in the 11th over. Having stayed there patiently, opener Mayank Agarwal was bowled by Hasan in the 16th over while Stuart Binny also departed at the same score when Vinay Kumar arrived at the crease with Karnataka reeling at 65 for eight in 16.2 overs.


Popular posts from this blog

Next Gen of Karnataka Cricket !!!

Top 10 sportspersons from Karnataka

BSL 4: Rishabh Krishna shines as Thundering typhons beat Drakon force