Syed Mushtaq ali T-20 tournament (south zone) results:

Half-centuries by Mayank Agarwal and Manish Pandey were the highlights of Karnataka’s convincing nine-wicket victory over Goa in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 match played at the PESIT grounds here today.
After putting their opponents on to bat, the Karnataka bowlers did well to bowl out Goa for 119. Skipper R Vinay Kumar and Abhimanyu Mithun dismissed the top three batsmen early in the innings to reduce the visitors to 6 for 2. Ravikant Shukla was the only batsman in the top five to post double-digit scores; he made 18 from 21 balls before he slashed a wide one from Manish Pandey straight to KP Appanna in the outfield.
Kinan Vaz top-scored in the innings with 38 and he found an able ally in Reagan Pinto who made 28. The pair added 69 runs over a period of eight overs before Pinto made the mistake of not grounding his bat when Manish Pandey scored a direct hit; he made 28 from 25 balls. Vaz was eighth-man dismissed; he hit three boundaries and a six in his 27-ball knock which was chiefly responsible in guiding his team to a respectable total.
For Karnataka, the two new ball bowlers – Vinay and Mithun – picked up two wickets each. Stuart Binny, Manish Pandey and K Gowtham chipped in with a wicket each. The visitors failed to bat out their allotted overs and were skittled out in 18.3 overs.
In reply, Karnataka got off to a quick start scoring 11 runs in the first over. Mayank Agarwal was quick off the blocks while Manish Pandey played second fiddle. The pair added 108 runs when Agarwal was castled by Syed Badiuzzmama in the 16th over; he made 55 and hit four boundaries and two sixes in his 48-ball knock. Pandey brought up his half-century and took his team past the finish line in style when he hit Reagan Pinto for a six; he remained unbeaten on 55 from 57 balls (2 fours and 3 sixes) and had KL Rahul (5 off 11 balls) when the victory was achieved.
Brief Scores:
Goa: 119 in 18.3 Overs [Kinan Vaz 38, R Vinay Kumar 2-13, Abhimanyu Mithun 2-18]
Karnataka: 122-1 in 18.2 Overs [Mayank Agarwal 55, Manish Pandey 55*]
Result: Karnataka won by 9 wickets.


Popular posts from this blog

Next Gen of Karnataka Cricket !!!

Top 10 sportspersons from Karnataka

BSL 4: Rishabh Krishna shines as Thundering typhons beat Drakon force